Will we stop commercial flying?

Max Power

This one has largely been on everyone’s mind I imagine, it’s certainly been on mine. Will we stop flying in the US?

I have no crystal ball, no knowledge and no precedent besides 9/11. But on my last 3 day, I never had a load over 40 pax and that was day one. Yesterday was no flight over 30 pax out of 50 on normally full flights, with a bunch of nonrevs. I’m supposed to start a 6 day stretch ( 2 3 days) and my concern is on my MEM overnight, 800 miles from home, it’ll be “ No flying, good luck”

Not fear mongering, just looking for other insight. I think it will happen, personally

bike21

9-5 Ruins Lives
I'd honestly be surprised if we're still flying by this weekend. Finished a 4 day last night and Seatac was a ghost town at 7:30pm. Felt odd flying a trip when the world is basically on lock down and trying to be 'normal'.

Beginning to think a 3 week stand down is in order but don't have the slightest idea of the financial toll other than simply being big. Probably being negotiated as part of the bailout package is my guess.

BobDDuck

Island Bus Driver
and my concern is on my MEM overnight, 800 miles from home, it’ll be “ No flying, good luck”
This was the reality on 9/11. Crews spent up to a week in random places until recovery flights could be worked out. The good news (if you have CASS) is that I'm guessing the freight carriers will still be operating and getting home from MEM should be particularly easy. If they aren't flying either... ROAD TRIP!

Yakob

Grand Prognosticator Nominee
How much more of an economic impact will that have on airlines if they're flying 80%+ empty anyways? Seems like they are losing more by flying around right now.
I'm wondering that too. Certainly stopping all flights would damage the airlines but I wonder if it would be better than hemorrhaging money with every flight which I can only assume is happening now with loads what they are...

tcco94

Professional GTA V Pilot