Trucker to Airline Pilot

Freightshaker

Break one nine,

I'm looking to transition into aviation over the next 5 to 7 years. I've been driving for 3 years and in the past 7 months I've switched from long haul to local work and finally have some disposable time and income. I currently don't have an undergrad degree but I'll be able to work on that. Right now I'm looking to start training for my PPL at the end of the month. My plan as of now is to obtain my PPL and then start training to become an aircraft dispatcher (I've been told I don't need a college degree for this). I'd like to leave the trucking industry, and transition into aviation by taking the aircraft dispatcher route. While doing that I'd have to balance work, obtaining flight ratings, and obtaining a degree, with the end goal of becoming a professional pilot. I'm wondering if this is possible or realistic? I currently working 60 to 70 hours a week, If I'm able to work 40 as a dispatcher I feel like I can manage those other tasks.

I apologize in advance if I sound naive, I'm just trying to figure out the best place to start. I'm already 25 and I don't want to be pushing rigs down the highway forever. I'd rather do it in the air.

Dan

Last edited:

USMCmech

As a CFI, my ideal flight student is a truck driver.

Seriously, they pick up flying faster than any other demographic. They understand mechanical systems, energy management, thinking ahead of the airplane, regulations, and importance of weather.

Engineers on the other hand......

Freightshaker

My Dad is an engineer and didn't finish getting his PPL so maybe you're on to something @USMCmech .

Currently the trucking industry is full of woefully undertrained and unskilled drivers due to high turnover, regulations, and low pay. Most of the bad drivers eventually become unemployable, only to be replaced by fresh meat coming in and the cycle continues, but that's another topic.