The pilot shortage? Blame 4 year degrees!

GypsyPilot

This is an article from last spring, but just showed up in one of my financial news feeds as a “Fact of the Day”.

It’s pretty hilarious how horrible it is... None of the airlines she listed have or will ever have a shortage! Even those second rate cargo operators UPS and FedEx that she mentioned.

FlyingAccountant

I stopped reading when she compared aviation to the culinary field.

Anyone can get a cheap paper mill four year degree and check the box. I mean, hell, the traditional four year large state school I graduated from was charging me $2500 for a full load semester, so $20k total for a four year degree? You can cash flow that with a pretty basic job.

She quotes $75k for flight training and then goes on to say a four year degree and the flight training can cost a combined $200k.

Who's paying $125k for a four year degree? No one outside of an Ivy league school and those guys likely aren't going into aviation with a pedigree like that anyway.

Last edited:

mastermags

Well-Known Member *giggity*
I stopped reading when she compared aviation to the culinary field.

Anyone can get a cheap paper mill four year degree and check the box. I mean, hell, the traditional four year large state school I graduated from was charging me $2500 for a full load semester, so $20k total for a four year degree? You can cash flow that with a pretty basic job.

She quotes $75k for flight training and then goes on to say a four year degree and the flight training can cost a combined $200k.

Who's paying $125k for a four year degree? No one outside of an Ivy league school and those guys likely aren't going into aviation with a pedigree like that anyway.
Um, a lot of people are paying $125k, especially with room and board and fees.

JordanD

Honorary Member
lol. I think FedEx was the only one on that list that actually requires a four year degree.

USMCmech