Should I bother to book AME appointment?

soccer629

Hi guys,

I'm new to the forums, and am seeking some advice since I haven't found anything that really fits my situation. So here is my situation:

I'm thinking about enrolling into my local flight school's PPL training program, but figured that I should get my medical first before shelling out all the money towards training. However when I was a Sophomore in high school I was diagnosed with depression with anxiety and was given a prescription for Prozac. Later on that year my depression got worse so my parents decided to check me into the local Behavior Hospital. I ended up taking the anti-depressant for a few years until I turned 21 and was cleared to go off them by the psychiatrist that I was seeing. I'm 29, turning 30 in a few months and haven't had any problems since being in high school and am able to hold down jobs and I graduated from college with a B.S degree. I also have all my prescription history and everything I could get from the doctor's office and hospital.

So my question is should I bother to fill out the MedXPress form and make an appointment with an AME or would this prevent me for getting a medical certificate?

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

killbilly

Vocals, Lyrics, Triangle, Washboard, Kittens
Hi guys,

I'm new to the forums, and am seeking some advice since I haven't found anything that really fits my situation. So here is my situation: