Pilots with a fear of heights

Goonie

Never say die
So I have a pretty extreme fear of heights.

For example, when I went to Golden Gate I was terrified and had to stand 2 feet from the guard rail even though the rail is 5 feet high. The only time I went up a ski lift (summer time) I had to walk 2 hours down because I was scared as hell the whole way up.

Flying has no affect on me whatsoever though.

Does anyone else have this irrational fear? My friends and family can't wrap their heads around the fact that I am a acrophobic pilot.

Murdoughnut

Well sized member
I think it's comfort that comes with time. My first five hours of dual I was still convinced we were going to fall from the sky.

JordanD

Honorary Member
Yup. If I'm ever in a in a building with a glass elevator I usually want to take the stairs. Those things make me sweat the whole ride. Same with any kind of tall building or balcony, even if it's enclosed I'm not crazy about it.

Despite that, some of the most fun I've ever had was strapped in an airplane stuck together with glue and fabric at 5,000 feet violently spinning directly at the ground. Go figure.

Boris Badenov

He comes to save the day in a broken truck.
Pretty much the same as you guys. I break out in a cold sweat when I watch Ferris Bueller leaning against the glass of the Sears Tower.

I mean I would, if I watched Ferris Bueller. Obviously.

rframe

pǝʇɹǝʌuı