Online Bachelors

Can anyone suggest a recognized min work online to get a 4 years bachelors, since some of the big iron fliers need it as a qualifying criteria. I have an AA and a couple of diplomas.

nibake

Powder hound
If you are opposed to a faith based university read no further.

If not, I had a pretty good experience with Liberty U Online. You will get credit for all the FAA certificates you hold no questions asked or fees. If you already have the cores done, and it sounds like you do, you will only need to do the minimum of 30 hours if you play your cards right. I had no prior accredited class and I managed to do the absolute minimum of 30 credit hours with a combination of CLEP/DANTES testing and credit for prior learning. It took me < 1.5 years to complete everything while working full time. YMMV. It was about as painless of an experience as I could have asked for.

JordanD

Honorary Member
Hey, I applied for a school this week, get off my ass!
I know a lot of people that have done/are doing Thomas Edison State University online. You can use your ratings for a ton of credits for the BSAST in aviation flight technology, and I know people that were able to CLEP or use their in house testing to test out of all but a few of their classes.

FloridaLarry

For price alone, check your in-state public universities. They're invariably the least expensive.

But nibake's example of transfer credit and credits from experience is very important. It may even upset the 'cheapest' measure. Make sure your school is accredited by the regional accrediting organization - nearly all are, but not every one (Watch out for the smaller, newer private schools!)

Remember that you'll have a life after the cockpit, and you can't know now exactly when that part will start. Get a good education in something that will serve you for the rest of your life.

Plus, pick some courses that sound like fun!