Jobs during F-word

amichael

I've wasted the past 3ish months on a paid staycation, but now that the F word is becoming more real, I feel like the staycation should soon come to an end. I don't foresee any flying jobs to be available (save maybe a couple for the most networked among us) so I am trying to brainstorm jobs that are better than collecting an unemployment check. I have a Master's degree but its in Aviation so that's not super helpful. I was thinking of getting my real estate license, but I know next to nothing about that. What do you guys think?

phill1174

I’m not facing the F word as of yet but I’ve thought about getting my CDL while on reserve to get a head start just in case. The first year may suck but after that if you can get local and be home every night it isn’t bad. It’s not pilot money but not terrible either. IT isn’t too shabby either according to my significant other. The key to progression there is getting all the certifications you can. Depending on where you are and your situation the state may pay for you to get some kind of trade with workforce funding. At least in Arizona they will.

Last edited:

DE727UPS

If one is good at home repair/handyman stuff and live in the right area you could make it a decent part time gig. My handyman moved into hosting Airbnb's for other people (property management) and does pretty well during the summer tourist season. He charges 15%, which is a great deal for the owners, and takes the full cleaning fee. He either cleans himself or subs it out, depending on how busy he is. In the winter he does condo remodels.

Murdoughnut

Well sized member
Keep tabs on airport jobs - even though our part of the industry is being hit too, there are opportunities out there. Entry level airport operations positions are typically most suited for those with flying experience.

Murdoughnut

Well sized member