1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DHS hacks 757 from gate

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by av8tr1, Nov 13, 2017.

  1. Richman

    Richman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,173
    Likes Received:
    3,808
    You mean taping face photos on my wall at home isn't how FaceSpace works?
     
  2. gotWXdagain

    gotWXdagain Highly Visible Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    2,791
    Not in the newer stuff. Here’s an article about the Pro Line Fusion:

    http://www.lynx.com/lynxos-178-rtos...ro-line-fusion-series-of-flight-deck-systems/

    Further googling of Commercial Off-The-Shelf operating systems, it looks like they’re starting to be more widespread in aviation applications.

    Sure I wouldn’t expect something like a Mad Dog to have the same vulnerabilities as a C-Series, mainly owing to its own obsolescence.
     
  3. Cptnchia

    Cptnchia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,517
    Likes Received:
    10,126
    “The Bombardier Vision Flight Deck with Pro Line Fusion is featured on Bombardier’s Global 5000™ and Global 6000™ business jets and will be featured on the Learjet 85™ aircraft.”


    What new transport category aircraft uses Pro Line Fusion?
     
    ATN_Pilot likes this.
  4. Autothrust Blue

    Autothrust Blue "How can you be so obtuse?"

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17,505
    Likes Received:
    10,478
    It's now 2017, and the industry's approach to software assurance is no better.

    It's like nobody learned anything from the Therac-25.
     
    PGT and ppragman like this.
  5. Autothrust Blue

    Autothrust Blue "How can you be so obtuse?"

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17,505
    Likes Received:
    10,478
    Thanks to the geniuses at Honeywell, it would appear Your Fleet does that just fine on its own.
     
    JordanD likes this.
  6. Derg

    Derg Naval Intelligence, MCRN Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    34,792
    Likes Received:
    48,604
    Whiiiiiiiich is why many systems run off IRU's and only generally use GPS for reference data. You could totally go "Gravity" on the satellite spectrum and the Airbus would put down it's coffee and say "Monsieur, your NAV performance has degraded somewhat" but it's not about to fall out of the sky or end up in the side of a mountain. I'm not even sure the entire 757/767 fleet even has GPS.

    On the Bus to go GPS-primary NAV you've got to deselect a lot of stuff in the MCDU to make it happen. 757/767 wouldn't even care. I don't thnk I've flown any aircraft that would disregard IRU data and go following a rogue GPS position.
     
  7. Cessnaflyer

    Cessnaflyer Wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    I couldn't imagine being burnt by a barrage of radiation!
     
  8. Cessnaflyer

    Cessnaflyer Wooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    I did get to experience first-hand GPS jamming from a testbed from a P-8 over a decade ago. I can't imagine that having much effect on anything. "Ugh we need a heading for a bit, our GPS is a little off".
     
  9. Cptnchia

    Cptnchia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,517
    Likes Received:
    10,126

    The bus is like Boeing and MD. The FMS compares GPS position to DME/DME position to IRU position, and disregards the outlier.
     
    ClarkGriswold, z987k and Derg like this.
  10. mshunter

    mshunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,385
    Likes Received:
    5,274
    Which leaves an in. There is data broadcast over that VHF channel. At this point, it's insignificant. Just data, no commands. But if there was commands....it could be hacked.
     
  11. Roger Roger

    Roger Roger Paid to sleep, fly for fun

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    10,313
    I don’t know that to me true.
     
  12. ppragman

    ppragman Direct BOOKE

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    3,672
    I don't know enough about hacking to make too much of an intelligent comment, but just because it's not obvious doesn't mean it can't be done. We don't know what kind of exploit DHS found. These systems are insanely complicated

    So let's say that you had a transmitter you carried with you in your backpack that could spoof GPS signals.

    You spoof the GPS in such a way that because of terrible programming 35 years ago causes a buffer overflow in the memory where the GPS location data is stored. Let's say this allows remote code execution - well now you're "in." It doesn't have to be wifi.

    It really depends on the system in question and how clever the attackers are. It could be that attacking the wifi in a clever way allows for some other cascading electronic system malfunction that opens up critical systems to exploit.

    It's also worth noting that just because it's airgapped doesn't mean your intrinsically "safe."
     
    gotWXdagain likes this.
  13. Cptnchia

    Cptnchia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,517
    Likes Received:
    10,126
    Follow that line of thought. The FMS gets hacked. What can the hacker make it do? Change the magenta line? Easy fix for any hacked FMS

    Autopilot-OFF
    Autothrottles-OFF
    PFD- Select manual VOR rose. Manually tune VORs.
    Notify ATC of degraded NAV function.
    Put down coffee/suduku and do pilot stuff.
     
  14. Soku39

    Soku39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    699
    In fairness it would appear from the headlines of the last year, that absolutely no industry takes software assurance and security seriously. I honestly just can't wait for my self driving car...
     
  15. Roger Roger

    Roger Roger Paid to sleep, fly for fun

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,157
    Likes Received:
    10,313
    They’re, uh, really not. Example: in TYOOL 2017 FMS still uses heading and vertical speed commands to make the AP track your GPS and vnav. Most of this really just ends up being a digital equivalent of the good ol KI525A HSI.
     
    ATN_Pilot likes this.
  16. CFI A&P

    CFI A&P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,841
    Likes Received:
    2,917
     
  17. ppragman

    ppragman Direct BOOKE

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    3,672
    Technically you wouldn't even need commands if the system was engineered sloppily.

    Put the airplane 4 mile to the left of course in mountainous terrain while showing everything "normal." Display inaccurate altitudes. Lots of stuff, it depends on what is hacked and how the FMS integrates with everything. It's gonna vary from airplane to airplane, but yeah, if you don't know as the pilot...you don't know. It really depends on what has been compromised and how deeply they're able to get into the systems of the airplane. If whatever exploit DHS has found runs deep enough...well, I don't think we can really discount it without finding out more. I mean, realistically, in the MadDog you're probably going to be ok provided you're monitoring ground-based navaids and paying attention. However, if you were crossing the ocean outside of radar, and the group trying to hack you is a state actor...well, the equation becomes more complicated.

    Here's the thing though... the processors really are. The computers "under the hood" are. Sure, they may only be really outputting heading and vertical commands, but how is that data being being displayed to the pilot, how is that system being monitored. The autopilot might not be the problem in this situation.

    Imagine that everything was shown as "normal" to the pilot, but the system actually had you 4 miles to the north of course in JNU on the LDA-DME Z? In most of the country, this wouldn't be a problem, but in places without radar and large chunks of terrain the plot thickens. EGPWS could help with this - provided that the system is independent from the FMS and the pilot display...still, there are complications.
     
  18. Cptnchia

    Cptnchia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,517
    Likes Received:
    10,126
    EGPWS is a stand alone system, and if I’m flying the LDA DME in JNU, they would have to hack the localizer and DME signals on the ground, plus the GPS signal, PLUS the output from the IRUs to spoof the FMS. Not to mention that they’d have to override the MAP SHIFT logic of the FMS.

    Again, is it possible. Well, anything is. I just think it’s not as big an issue as you in the commandeering of an aircraft. After all, the FMS is a deferrable system. The aircraft has to be able to be flown if the entire system fails or is turned off.
     
    Cazadores and Roger Roger like this.
  19. JordanD

    JordanD Sizeable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7,648
    Likes Received:
    6,974
    If all of this was really that plausible I'm sure the Russians would have figured it out and exploited it by now.
     
    Roger Roger likes this.
  20. ATN_Pilot

    ATN_Pilot Socialist Pig Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,032
    Likes Received:
    13,534
    Fake news!
     
    JordanD likes this.

Share This Page