Conquest Air Crash near Miami (Ditching)

melax

Cargo ops. Nassau to Opa-Locka FL , 2 crew 1 rescued 1 missing. Both engines failed (fuel starvation maybe ??...)
EIS was 05-18-1955 / delivery to the United States Air Force, that was an old bird indeed.

Last edited:

Roger Roger

Paid to sleep, fly for fun
Would an airframe that big have fuel ports big enough to allow jet a?
Typically in a misfueling the airplane doesn’t make it that far.

Though, I suppose it depends heavily on how much gas they took vs what was on board.

Soku39

What's interesting is that plane first flew in '55, and I fly '74 model C-130s every week. It's interesting for sure.

melax

Misfuel is possible. No fuel is also possible.
NAS-OPF = 160nm , about an hour for that plane , (including run-up, taxi + flight time) so I don't think misfuel would be an issue, I think the engines would have failed much earlier. But I'm not an expert on the c-131 with radials. They also do require oil.

Video of the co-pilot rescue. Captain is 71 and was strapped in his seat

Last edited:

Inverted

#inspirationing
NAS-OPF = 160nm , about an hour for that plane , (including run-up, taxi + flight time) so I don't think misfuel would be an issue, I think the engines would have failed much earlier. But I'm not an expert on the c-131 with radials. They also do require oil.
Both dying at the same time is highly unlikely from a lack of oil. It is possible but I really doubt it.

MikeD

Administrator
Staff member
What's interesting is that plane first flew in '55, and I fly '74 model C-130s every week. It's interesting for sure.
The T-37s I flew were 1955-67 models, and the T-38s were '61-'73 models,

CFI A&P

Exploring the world one toilet at a time.
Plane type ?
Not the make and model involved, but a single engine tail dragger. However, they’re all machines and will continue to run if they are fed and receive periodic maintenance.