1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anxiety Diagnosis?

Discussion in 'Ask A Flight Surgeon' started by Bikepacker, Sep 15, 2016.

1. Bikepacker

Bikepacker Active Member

Recently, I had and MRI done of my head due to some eye issues. The eye issues have since been cleared up, but the MRI led me down a rabbit hole of sorts. It led to me visiting a neurologist who ordered a cognitive test. When I received the report from the test, it showed no cognitive problems and I scored normal or above normal in all areas. But in the final summary of the report they mention me having mild anxiety. No medications were prescribed. Is this a diagnosis? Do I need to report it on my next visit to my AME?

2. Maximillian_Jenius

Maximillian_Jenius Super User

Anxiety and depression are the two most common types of mental disorders.

I am no doctor, but working in the psych field I see both a lot. If prescribed medicine is necessary in order to treat your anxiety, I'd contact the FAA/med examiner, to see if it's approved or not.

Otherwise if it's a pretty mild case, look into talking to a licensed professional, about non-drug alternatives like learning coping skills in order to manage your anxiety.

3. ppragman

ppragman Direct BOOKE

Understand that any and all visits to health care professionals are supposed to be reported on your medical too...

Our industry is kind of messed up in that way

Maximillian_Jenius likes this.
  4. av8tr1

av8tr1 "Never tell me the odds!"