1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Guest! Early registration available for NetworkJC 2014!
    October 22, 2014 at The Planet Hollywood Las Vegas Eventbrite - NetworkJC 2014, presented by Jetcareers.com

Staying Instrument Current

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by RAJPINDERJIT SINGH, Sep 7, 2012.

1. RAJPINDERJIT SINGH

RAJPINDERJIT SINGH New Member

Hi,

I'm a private pilot and I'm looking forward to becoming a instrument rated pilot, and one of the reasons is because I'd like to be more comfortable making long cross country flights. But of course renting an airplane can be quite heavy on the budget.

I was reading that to stay IFR current, you have to do 6 approaches in actual or simulated IFR, and I guess I was wondering, how often do private pilots or even commercial pilots actually end up doing approaches in IFR conditions. Or pretty much all private pilots end up flying with an instructor or a safety pilot every 6 months to stay instrument current. Because I was thinking that if I do become an instrument pilot, I would of course want to shoot an approach during each landing, but I doubt I'll encounter IFR conditions each time I go flying.

So how many private pilots pretty much take a instructor or a safety pilot all the time to stay current.
  2. Acrofox

Acrofox All fox

Basically that. You either fly instruments (in IMC) regularly, or you go up with a safety pilot or CFI every six months.

The confounding issue is that while you can shoot approaches all you like, they don't count unless you're under the hood or in IMC ... and you can't go under the hood without a safety pilot.

So ... yeah.

-Fox
  3. web265

web265 Well-Known Member