1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recovery From Ear Block/Infection

Discussion in 'Ask A Flight Surgeon' started by berge7f9, Feb 5, 2007.

1. berge7f9

berge7f9 Well-Known Member

I know there was a thread about the causes of ear block and its associated symptoms. I have been recently diagnosed with an ear infection and right now I hearing things as if I am currently wearing a pair of unplugged David Clark headsets. It seems obvious that I have my Eustachian tube blocked. After my diagnosis of an ear infection at the clinic I went to today, I was given some antibiotics to take and was told not to fly until at least a week. It somewhat sucks because I'm a flight instructor and flying is my source of income. From what I have seen on the internet, it takes about 3 months for the Eustachian tube to become free of fluid. In my mind, 3 months without instructing would be marginally disastrous.

If any JCers have had an ear block that has more than 2 or 3 days, how long did it take for you to get over it? What are all the things that I can do to get my Eustachian tubes open. Someone please tell me that it does not take longer than advertised.

peace
  2. My Flight Surgeon

My Flight Surgeon Sr. Aviation Medical Examiner Staff Member

It should take only a week or so to be able to fly. I would stay under 5000 ft AGL for the following 2 weeks. Try to "pop" your ears before you try flying, if you can pop them, you can try flying but be cautious and stay out of IMC and away from nights.

Use Afrin twice a day for a week.

Ask you Dr for Flonase to take down the swelling. It should be used for a month to prevent rebound swelling.

You can use Claritin (or cheaper yet AllerClear from Costco) to dry things up.
  3. Bandit_Driver

Bandit_Driver Gold Member