1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reasons not to get a degree in Aviation

Discussion in 'Collegiate Aviation' started by Blackhawk21, Nov 8, 2009.

1. Blackhawk21

Blackhawk21 New Member

Hello everyone, I would like to share with you my story so that some of you will be able to learn from my mistakes.

I have always wanted to be a pilot my entire life. When my senior year of high school came around, I wanted to go to college to earn all of my licenses and ratings as well as a degree in aviation. I figured going to a reputable school and doing my training there would guarantee me a job upon graduation.

Currently, I am a freshman at Purdue. I was admitted into Professional Flight Technology for the Fall of 2009. I went to my first day of classes, and that's when I knew that I was taking the wrong path to fullfill my career goals. I didn't like my flight instructor, and I found it quite amusing that I have a friend who was actually more qualified of an instructor than her. That being said, I changed majors after one day of being here.

This is my advice to everyone who wants to do aviation in college.

Don't do it.

Airlines want their pilots to have a degree. Just a degree; it does not matter what this degree is in. Having a degree in aviation will not give you a competitive edge in the hiring process.

The money university run programs charge is much greater than the flight costs you will pay at an FBO. For example, paying out-of-state tuition, it was going to cost be nearly 160K for a degree in aviation from Purdue.
    This means you pay all that money just to earn your licenses.

Somebody who did all their flight training separate from their education will have a college degree in some other field as well as have the same licenses and ratings as you. Thus, you are spending a lot of money for a degree that doesn't give you much of a competitive edge at all.