![]() |
| | #1 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 65
| http://webplus.locators.estates.co.uk/apply1.htm Has anyone ever heard of this? I called the guy that runs this to get an application. He seems pretty credible. He is all over the general aviation websites. He confused the heck out of me when I asked how it worked, but apparently you have to get someone that is over 65 to sponsor you. Aside from flying he owns a mortgage company, that works with institutional investors, that do something with annuities. Anyway, I am supposed to get the application tomorrow, I just wanted to find out if anyone has any experience with this. Thanks, Ryan |
| |
| | #2 |
| Newbie Join Date: Oct 2006 Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 18
|
I read the web site and its sound funny to me, something about the site doesn't seem right. But if you say that you spoke to the guy and it sounds good go for it... please keep me posted.... If its legit then I would go for it too..... good luck.... Have you started any training yet?
|
| |
| | #3 |
| Old Skool Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,395
| |
| |
| | #4 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 65
|
Ya, it sounds a little fishy to me, too. My Mother is a court reporter, so I am going to have one her lawyer buddies check it out.
|
| |
| | #5 |
| Old Skool Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,395
| |
| |
| | #6 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 68
|
You say this guy owns a mortgage company? This has got to be the biggest scam I have ever seen. More than likely he is getting your grandparents to either refinance their house, mortgage it or do some sort of reverse mortgage so HE gets their home when they pass. What a slime ball. |
| |
| | #7 |
| Old Skool |
Yeah, a grant is when you fill out an application and someone grants you the amount offered. No other transactions take place, whatsoever.
__________________ British Airways flight asks for push back clearance from terminal. Control Tower replies: "And where is the world's most experienced airline going today without filing a flight plan?" |
| |
| | #8 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 65
|
Thanks guys, for helping me make a smart decision.
|
| |
| | #9 |
| Old Skool Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 2,044
|
Web address is based in the UK...guarantee they will ask for some sort of financial info...and then disappear. Smells really fishy...
__________________ JBDaP --------------- "The presidency is not something that lends itself to on-the-job training" - Joe Biden on Obama's lack of experience. |
| |
| | #10 |
| Junior Member |
I actually emailed him and got a package with some applications and information, and had a lawyer friend of mine look over it. He told me to shred it, and said if it was him he would actually make some calls to turn him in to the authorities. I would STAY AWAY. If it sounds to good to be true, it usually is.
|
| |
| | #11 | |
| Junior Member Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 65
| Quote:
TO ALL, DO NOT, I REPEAT DO NOT, INVEST IN THIS PROGRAM. IT IS A SCAM. | |
| |
| | #12 |
| Junior Member Join Date: Oct 2004 Location: Medina, OH
Posts: 100
|
Hmmm site's down now.... Hopefully somebody busted him!
__________________ Just when you think you're of average intelligence, someone comes along and elevates you to genius. |
| |
| | #13 |
| Senior Member Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Clear Lake, TX
Posts: 1,181
| As much as I'm going to nay say, I'll still maintain an open mind until the final outcome is revealed either in no more money available or in a police report. Majority of the comments I've heard have been stay away, but many have said continue to investigate until the very end. . .as in press for due diligence. I checked the FAA files and the guy is in fact a pilot located on the east coast. The senior citizen sponsor and his owning a mortgage company hints of the reverse mortgage scam that's prevalent, but I wish to confirm this with fact and not speculation. Further, having the money set aside anyway will minimize the risk of a senior citizen compromise. Update - Yes, received the paperwork from the organization. All so far is above board. Spoke at great length with the individual and yes, from the discussion, it is still either a new best kept secret or yes, it could be a possible scam. Given the fact I'm at no obligation to do the paperwork, I'll continue until I see any red flags. Thoroughly enjoyed the conversation with the gentleman. He too appeared on the phone to be a responsible, professional individual and from other indications, a professional pilot. The words he conveyed to me mimicked much of the professionalism and sound advice I hear from many on this site. I'll continue to proceed cautiously until my "warm and fuzzy" diminishes. Last edited by MFT1Air; October 31st, 2006 at 18:37. |
| |
| | #14 | |
| Junior Member Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 65
| Quote:
Let us know how it goes | |
| |
| | #15 |
| Junior Member |
Try the Better Business Bureau. Its free and they may be able to let you know if this guy / company is a scam. Be very careful
__________________ KA-BLAHHHH....FREEDOM!!!!!!!!!!! |
| |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |